Home » » Historic Centre of Macau

Historic Centre of Macau

The Historic Centre of Macau (Chinese: 澳門歷史城區; Portuguese: O Centro Histórico de Macau) is a collection of over twenty locations that witness the unique assimilation and co-existence of Chinese and Portuguese cultures in Macau, a former Portuguese colony. It represents the architectural legacies of the city's cultural heritage, including monuments such as urban squares, streetscapes, churches and temples.

In 2005 the Historic Centre of Macau was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List, making it the 31st designated World Heritage site in China. It was described by UNESCO as: "with its historic street, residential, religious and public Portuguese and Chinese buildings, the historic centre of Macao provides a unique testimony to the meeting of aesthetic, cultural, architectural and technological influences from East and West," and "...it bears witness to one of the earliest and longest-lasting encounters between China and the West, based on the vibrancy of international trade."

List of sites

The Historic Centre of Macao is made up of two separated core zones in city center on the Macau peninsula. Each core zone is surrounded by a buffer zone.

Zone 1
The narrow-stripped Zone 1 is located between Mount Hill and Barra Hill.
  •     A-Ma Temple
  •     Moorish Barracks
  •     Lilau Square
  •     Mandarin's House
  •     St Lawrence's Church
  •     St. Joseph's Seminary and Church
  •     St. Augustine's Square
  •     Dom Pedro V Theatre
  •     Sir Robert Ho Tung Library
  •     St. Augustine's Church
  •     Leal Senado Building
  •     Senado Square
  •     Sam Kai Vui Kun (Kuan Tai Temple)
  •     Holy House of Mercy
  •     Cathedral of the Nativity of Our Lady
  •     Lou Kau Mansion
  •     St. Dominic's Church
  •     Ruins of St. Paul's
  •     Na Tcha Temple
  •     Section of the Old City Walls
  •     Mount Fortress
  •     St. Anthony's Church
  •     Casa Garden
  •     Old Protestant Cemetery and the old headquarters of the British East Indies Company
Zone 2

The Zone is surrounded by a buffer zone that covers a park and immediate urban area.
  •     Guia Fortress incorporating Guia Chapel and Guia Lighthouse

Most of the items (buildings) are owned by the Macau Special Administrative Region (SAR) and managed by various departments or authority. Cultural Institute of the SAR Government manages the Mandarin's House, the Ruins of St. Paul's, the Section of the Old Wall, Mount Fortress and Guia Fortress (includes the Lighthouse and Chapel).

Leal Senado Building is managed by the Provisional Municipal Council of Macao while the two government-owned temples, A-Ma Temple and Na Tcha Temple are managed by the Board of A-Ma Temple Charity Association and Management Board of Na Tcha Temple respectively. The Moorish Barracks is managed by the Macao Harbour Administration Building.

The rest of the items are owned and managed by the respective institutions. St. Joseph's Seminary Building and Church is owned by St. Joseph's Seminary and managed by the Catholic Diocese of Macao. The Holy House of Mercy Building is owned and managed by Holy House of Mercy Charitable Foundation. Dom Pedro V Theatre is owned and managed by the Management Board of Dom Pedro V Theatre.

The nominated buildings of the Historic Center are protected by various laws, including the Basic Law of the Macao SAR.

Related Post




ShoutMix chat widget
Guest Book

Subscribe Via Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

My Blog




[Valid Atom 1.0]
Google PageRank Checker Powered by  MyPagerank.Net

Powered by FeedBurner

SEO Stats powered by MyPagerank.Net




Welcome To My Blog

I hope you find what you're looking for here . . Thank you for visit to my simple blog . .

Rizky Maulana

This life is a sacrifice and struggle . . and I am just a man who wants to be better than ever . .